Diana Vishneva's Context festival

Moscow
Saint Petersburg

October / November 2020

Diana Vishneva's
Context festival

The international festival Context. Diana Vishneva provides access to the best practices of contemporary dance. Each year the festival presents world premieres, unique collaborations and critically acclaimed productions created by both recognized and emerging choreographers to the Russian audience. The festival also features documentary film screenings and an intensive parallel programme.

Context. Diana Vishneva festival sees its global mission in increasing the level of contemporary dance in Russia and its integration into the international dance context. The Festival aspires to help the audience to understand the language of dance and perceive contemporary choreography as a unique world where content and meaning implied by a choreographer and dancers matters as much as the form. The Festival’s programmes and events open new opportunities for professionals and young choreographers: from powering their creative abilities and expanding career horizons to reaching a whole new international level in dance performance.

«A new festival of modern choreography appeared in Moscow and immediately threatened to overshadow all similar projects, as it was inspired by Diana Vishneva herself — this prima ballerina is a real expert in contemporary choreography like no other of her academic colleagues» — Tatyana Kuznetsova, Kommersant newspaper

The founder and art director of the festival is Diana Vishneva — a ballet dancer who easily “speaks” the language of the greatest ballet innovators of the XX-XXI centuries, from Martha Graham and Maurice Béjart to Mats Ek and Alexei Ratmansky. In 2013 she came up with the idea of a festival, later given the name Context. Diana Vishneva, that could become a laboratory where both Russian and international choreographers could show their creative writings and working methods to each other and to a wider audience.

Over the years, the festival has brought to Russia the works by over 40 world leading choreographers: Mats Ek, Hans van Manen, Marco Goecke, Ohad Naharin, Jiří Kylián, Maurice Bejart, Martha Graham, Sidi Larbi Cherkaou, Angelin Preljocaj, Aszure Barto, Hofesh Shechter and others; invited over 20 internationally renowned dance companies, such as The National Ballet of Canada, NDT, the Ballet Company of Maurice Bejart, Martha Graham Dance Company, Batsheva Dance Company, Gauthier Dance, La Veronal. The Festival projects toured in Yekaterinburg and Perm and were presented at the world famous dance venues including Holland Festival in Hague, Sadler’s Wells in London and Suzanne Dellal Centre in Tel-Aviv. The acclaimed venues in Russia, such as Mariinsky Theatre and Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Theatre, Mossovet Theatre, Elctrotheatre Stanislavsky, Helicon Opera, Tovstonogov Bolshoi Drama Theatre open the doors to the Festival audience.

A Competition for Young Choreographers forms one of the Festival’s most important activity areas. The aim and purpose of the Competition is to search and support new emerging choreographers in Russia. The winners and finalists are now working actively both in Russia and abroad.

The Parallel programme of Context. Diana Vishneva Festival is constantly developing. It comprises screenings of rare documentary films about choreographers and artists, events both for professionals and wider audience: unique public talks and lectures of the leading choreography theorists, master-classes by the internationally acknowledged teachers, laboratories and work-shops for professionals in allied theatre disciplines, etc.

Международный фестиваль современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva

Москва
Санкт-Петербург

октябрь / ноябрь 2020

Фестиваль Context
Diana Vishneva

Международный фестиваль современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva ежегодно знакомит российских зрителей с лучшими достижениями в мире современного танца. Фестиваль представляет аудитории спектакли, созданные как знаменитыми, так и молодыми хореографами, мировые премьеры и постановки, высоко оценённые критиками, документальное кино о танце и насыщенную параллельную программу.

Своей глобальной миссией фестиваль Context. Diana Vishneva видит повышение уровня российской современной хореографии, ее интеграцию в мировой контекст. Фестиваль стремится помочь зрителю понимать язык танца, увидеть современную хореографию как мир, где важна не только форма, но и смыслы, заложенные хореографом и артистами. Программы и мероприятия фестиваля дают возможность профессионалам театра развить свои творческие способности и расширить карьерные горизонты, а молодым хореографам и исполнителям — выйти на мировой уровень.

«В Москве появился новый фестиваль современной хореографии, который грозит затмить все аналогичные проекты, поскольку его вдохновителем стала Диана Вишнёва, а эта прима-балерина знает толк в современной хореографии, как никто из ее академических коллег» — Татьяна Кузнецова, газета «Коммерсантъ».

Основатель и художественный директор фестиваля — балерина Диана Вишнёва, легко говорящая на языке выдающихся балетных новаторов XX–XXI веков от Марты Грэм и Мориса Бежара до Матса Эка и Алексея Ратманского. Фестиваль Context. Diana Vishneva был создан ею в 2013 году, как лаборатория, где зарубежные и российские хореографы могли бы показать свой творческий почерк и методы работы зрителям и друг другу.

За годы своего существования на фестивале были показаны работы более 40 ведущих мировых хореографов: Матса Эка, Ханса ван Манена, Марко Гекке, Охада Наарина, Иржи Килиана, Мориса Бежара, Марты Грэм, Сиди Ларби Шеркауи, Анжелена Прельжокажа, Азур Бартон, Хофеша Шехтера и других; представлены более 20 всемирно известных танцевальных компаний: Национальный балет Канады, NDT, балет Мориса Бежара, Martha Graham Dance Company, Batsheva Dance Company, Gauthier Dance, La Veronal. Гастроли фестиваля проходили в Екатеринбурге, Перми и на ведущих танцевальных сценах мира: Holland Dance Festival в Гааге, Sadler’s Wells Theatre в Лондоне и Suzanne Dellal Centre в Тель-Авиве. Свои двери для фестиваля открывают такие известные площадки, как Мариинский театр и Музыкальный театр имени Станиславского и Немировича-Данченко, Гоголь-Центр, Электротеатр Станиславский, Театр Моссовета, Геликон-Опера, БДТ им. Товстоногова.

Важным направлением фестиваля Context. Diana Vishneva является Конкурс молодых хореографов, цель которого — поиск и поддержка новых имен в мире современного танца в России. Финалисты и победители конкурса сегодня активно работают в России и за рубежом.

Параллельная программа Context. Diana Vishneva постоянно развивается — она объединяет показы редких документальных фильмов о хореографах и артистах, мероприятия как для профессионалов, так и для любителей танцевального искусства: встречи и паблик-токи, лаборатории и мастер-классы, лекции и воркшопы от ведущих хореографов, педагогов, теоретиков танца, профессионалов смежных театральных специальностей и многое другое.