Diana Vishneva's Context festival

Moscow
Saint Petersburg

Competition for young choreographers

  • 2016
    Olga Vasilieva
    Saint Petersburg
  • 2015
    Konstantin Semenov
    Moscow
  • 2014
    Lilia Burdinskaya
    St. Petersburg
  • 2013
    Vladimir Varnava
    St. Petersburg
Olga Vasilieva

Olga Vasilieva, the winner of the competition of young choreographers with the production The Room, received a grant for an internship at the Bikurey Ha'Itim Arts Center in Tel Aviv, where she also gave several master classes for choreographers and dancers. In November 2017, Olga will present her new production at the CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva festival.

In 2015 Olga graduated from the Pedagogical Faculty of the Vaganova Ballet Academy as a contemporary choreographer. Won the Grand Prix at the competition of young choreographers Vzletnaya Polosa (Saint Petersburg) and received the 1st place at Riga Spring (Riga). Performed in the productions by Russian and foreign choreographers: The Lost Voices of Hum Drum (2016) by Mikko Lampinen, Finland; Forest by Lilia Burdinskaya, Fade (2012) by Alexander Lyubashin (Lyubashin brothers group) and Anna Kucheryava’s film The Garden — choreographed by Alexander Chelidze — in a duet with Vladimir Varnava.

Olga Vasilieva is the author of such productions as Ideas, A Dream Within a Dream, Eve, Memento Mori, Sway, On the Edge, Start of the Middle, First Thing and The Room.

In 2017, Olga participated in the Mariinsky’s Creative Workshop of Young Choreographers, where she presented the piece Verbosity to the music of Nils Frahm and Max Richter.

Konstantin Semenov

Thanks to his victory at the competition of young choreographers, Konstantin received an internship at the Carolyn Carlson’s Atelier de Paris.

Konstantin graduated from Moscow State Academy of Choreography as a ballet artist and choreographer (class of Vadim Tedeev). In 2015, he obtained his master’s degree in theater studies. Artist of the Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Musical Theater. In 2009, he became the winner of the XI International Moscow Competition of Ballet Dancers and Choreographers in the category Best Choreographer.

In his productions, he uses the music of different styles and historical periods. Among his works: the ballet Kammermusik (2010) created for the Jinushi Kaoru Ballet Company, Osaka, Japan to the music of Paul Hindemith; Labyrinth (2014) to music of Boris Tchaikovsky commissioned by the Ballet of Moscow; Winter Story (2014) commissioned by Tatewaki Hiroko Ballet Academy to the music of Henry Purcell and Johann Sebastian Bach and others.

As a choreographer, he participated in the television project Bolero and the Dance-platform festival in the Ekaterinburg Opera and Ballet Theater with his production Folia.

Lilia Burdinskaya

In 2014, Liliya won the contest of young choreographers at the CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva festival with her production Forest and received an internship in Vienna at the ImPulsTanz — Vienna International Dance Festival.

Liliya is a contemporary dance choreographer, the founder of the ByeBye Ballet Centre for Contemporary Dance in St. Petersburg and since September 2014 — the Liliya Burdinskaya Dance Company she creates most of her productions for.

Graduated from The Legat School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance (England), and the London Contemporary Dance School at the Place with BA (Hons) degree in contemporary dance. During her training, she worked with leading international choreographers including Merce Cunningham and Trisha Brown. In 2006 Liliya joined the Deborah Colker Dance Company in Rio-de-Janeiro and became a soloist at the National Dance Company Wales. Between 2010-2011 she studied the Gaga innovative movement language at the Batsheva Dance Company under the direction of Ohad Naharin.

She performed in a duet with the legendary dancer Rina Schenfeld, the prima-ballerina of the Marta Graham Dance Company and the co-founder of the Batsheva Company, in the performance Notes to Pina, dedicated to Pina Bausch.

In May 2017, the work titled The Decay of Atom choreographed and directed by Liliya Burdinskaya and performed by the dancers of her own company saw its premiere at the Diaghilev Festival in Perm.

Vladimir Varnava

Vladimir Varnava became the first winner of the competition of young choreographers at the CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva with his production The Little Match Girl to the music by Dmitry Volkov. Vladimir received an internship at L’Atelier de Paris Carolyn Carlson in France.

Vladimir graduated from the Khanty-Mansiysk branch of the Moscow State University of Culture and Arts. For four years he was a dancer with the Music Theatre of the Republic of Karelia, performing lead roles in classical and contemporary ballets.

Vladimir Varnava is the youngest recipient of Russia’s most prestigious theatre prize, Golden Mask, in the category Best Male Role in Ballet for his performance of Mercutio in Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet at the Music Theatre of the Republic of Karelia in 2011. Three years later Varnava was awarded for his role in his own production The Passenger, that was also shortlisted for Best Production in Contemporary Dance and Best Choreographer. In 2016 Vladimir was nominated for the Best Male Role for Mozart and Salieri.

Since 2012 Varnava lives and works in Saint Petersburg. His most well-known works include The Beginning (2013) to the music by Erik Satie danced by Igor Kolb, a principal dancer with the Mariinsky Ballet Theatre, Stony Bank (2015) commissioned by the Yacobson Ballet Theatre, Mozart and Salieri (2015) after a cantata by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Antonio Salieri featuring Ivan Vasiliev as Mozart and Varnava himself as Salieri.

For the Mariinsky’s Creative Workshop of Young Choreographers, he created such works as Window on Deep Midwinter (2013), Keep Calm (2014), Clay (2015). In 2017 Varnava created the three-act ballet Yaroslavna for the main cast of the Mariinsky dancers premiered as part of XXV White Nights Festival.

Vladimir Varnava often participates in international festivals and choreographs for musicals and dance projects on TV. In 2016, Renata Shakirova and Kimin Kim, soloists of the Mariinsky Theater, performed the adagio from Varnava’s Stony Bank at The Big Ballet project on Russian TV Culture.

At the end of May 2017, the Diaghilev Festival in Perm saw the premiere of Varnava’s version of Petrushka to the music of Igor Stravinsky. Diana Vishneva performed one of the roles.

Международный фестиваль современной хореографии Context Diana Vishneva

12–19 ноября 2017
Москва
Санкт-Петербург

Конкурс молодых
хореографов

  • 2016
    Ольга Васильева
    Санкт-Петербург
  • 2015
    Константин Семенов
    Москва
  • 2014
    Лилия Бурдинская
    Санкт-Петербург
  • 2013
    Владимир Варнава
    Санкт-Петербург
Ольга Васильева

В качестве приза за победу в конкурсе с постановкой The Room Ольга Васильева получила грант на стажировку в Bikurey Ha'Itim Arts Center в Тель-Авиве, где помимо этого выступила с несколькими мастер-классами для хореографов и танцовщиков. В ноябре 2017 года Ольга представит свою новую постановку на фестивале CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva.

Ольга — педагог современного танца. В 2015 году окончила педагогический факультет Академии русского балета им. А.Я. Вагановой, стала обладателем Гран-при на конкурсе молодых хореографов «Взлетная полоса» (Санкт-Петербург) и получила первое место на конкурсе «Рижская весна» (Рига). В качестве танцовщицы принимала участие в спектаклях российских и зарубежных хореографов: The Lost Voices of Hum Drum (2016) Микко Лампинена, Финляндия; Forest в хореографии Лилии Бурдинской, «Fade/Замирание» (2012) Александра Любашина (проект Lyubashin brothers group) и фильме Анны Кучерявой «Сад» — хореография Александра Челидзе — в дуэте с Владимиром Варнавой.

Среди собственных постановок: Ideas, «Сон во сне», «Ева», Memento Mori, Sway, «На грани», Start of the Middle, «Первым делом», «Реминисценция» и другие.

В 2017 году принимала участие в «Творческой мастерской молодых хореографов» Мариинского театра, где представила работу «Многословность» на музыку Нильса Фрама и Макса Рихтера.

Константин Семенов

Благодаря победе в конкурсе Константин прошел стажировку в Центре хореографического искусства Каролин Карлсон в Париже.

Константин — выпускник Московской государственной академии хореографии по специальностям «Артист балета» (педагог В.С Тедеев) и «Хореограф». В 2015 году окончил аспирантуру по специальности «Театроведение». Артист Музыкального театра им. Станиславского и Немировича-Данченко. В 2009 году стал дипломантом XI Международного московского конкурса артистов балета и хореографов в номинации «Хореограф».

В своих постановках использует музыку различных стилей и эпох. Среди его работ: балет «Камерная музыка» (Kammermusik), созданный для труппы Jinushi Kaoru Ballet Company, Осака, Япония (2010) на музыку Пауля Хиндемита; спектакль «Лабиринт» на музыку Бориса Чайковского по заказу труппы «Балет Москва» (2014); минитюра Winter story для Tatewaki Hiroko Ballet Academy на музыку Генри Пёрселла и Иоганна Себастьяна Баха (2014) и другие.

Участвовал в качестве хореографа для дуэта «Слушая тебя» в телевизионном проекте «Болеро», а также фестивале «Dance-платформа» в Екатеринбургском театре оперы и балета со спектаклем «Фолия».

Лилия Бурдинская

В 2014 году Лилия стала победителем конкурса молодых хореографов фестиваля CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva с постановкой Forest, получив возможность стажировки в Вене на фестивале ImPulsTanz — Vienna International Dance Festival.

Лилия работает в стиле contemporary dance. Основала центр современного танца ByeBye Ballet в Санкт-Петербурге, а в сентябре 2014 года — собственную танцевальную компанию Liliya Burdinskaya Dance Company, для которой создает основную часть своих постановок.

Лилия окончила школу классического балета Николая Легата (Англия) и лондонскую школу современного танца The Place, получила степень бакалавра искусств современного танца в Кентском университете. Во время обучения работала с ведущими хореографами мира, в частности с Мерсом Каннингемом и Тришей Браун, последователями школы основательницы американского танца модерн Марты Грэм. В 2006 году Лилия вошла в состав танцевальной компании Deborah Colker в Рио-де-Жанейро и в том же году стала солисткой Национального театра танца Уэльса. В 2010–2011 годах прошла курс по танцевальной технике gaga в труппе «Батшева» Охада Наарина.

Выступала в дуэте с легендой израильского танца Риной Шенфельд, прима-балериной танцевальной компании Марты Грэм и соосновательницей труппы «Батшева» в её спектакле Notes to Pina, посвященном Пине Бауш.

В мае 2017 года на Дягилевском фестивале в Перми состоялась премьера спектакля «Распад Атома» в исполнении танцоров Liliya Burdinskaya Dance Company, в котором Бурдинская выступила в качестве режиссера-постановщика и хореографа.

Владимир Варнава

Владимир Варнава стал победителем первого конкурса молодых хореографов фестиваля CONTEXT. Diana Vishneva, представив свою постановку «Девочка со спичками» на музыку Дмитрия Волкова. По итогам конкурса Владимир получил стажировку в студии «Ателье де Пари» Каролин Карлсон во Франции.

Выпускник Центра искусств для одаренных детей Севера Ханты-Мансийского филиала Московского государственного университета культуры и искусств. На протяжении четырех лет был артистом балета Музыкального театра Республики Карелия, где исполнял ведущие партии в балетах классического и современного репертуара.

Владимир — самый молодой обладатель высшей театральной премии России «Золотая маска» в категории «Лучшая мужская роль» за роль Меркуцио в балете Прокофьева «Ромео и Джульетта» в Музыкальном театре Республики Карелия в 2011. Три года спустя Владимир получил «Золотую маску» за партию в спектакле «Пассажир» собственного сочинения, также отмеченной наградами «Лучший спектакль современного танца» и «Лучший хореограф», а в 2016 году вошел в список номинантов на лучшую мужскую роль с постановкой «Моцарт и Сальери».

С 2012 года живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. Создал множество работ для солистов музыкальных театров, самые известные из которых — миниатюра «Начало» (2013) на музыку Эрика Сати, поставленная на Игоря Колба, премьера Мариинского театра; спектакль «Каменный берег» (2015), созданный для Театра балета имени Леонида Якобсона; и «Моцарт и Сальери» (2015) по мотивам кантаты Вольфганга Амадея Моцарта и Антонио Сальери, партию Моцарта в которой исполнил Иван Васильев, премьер Михайловского театра, а Сальери — сам Владимир Варнава.

Неоднократно принимал участие в проекте Мариинского театра «Творческая мастерская молодых хореографов», в рамках которой были представлены спектакли «Окно в середину зимы» (2013), «Сохраняйте спокойствие» (2014), «Глина» (2015). В 2017 году Владимир Варнава поставил полнометражный балет «Ярославна» для основного состава Мариинского театра, премьера которого состоялась на XXV музыкальном фестивале «Звезды белых ночей».

Владимир Варнава участвует в международных фестивалях, создает хореографию для мюзиклов и танцевальных телевизионных проектов. Так, в 2016 году адажио из его спектакля «Каменный берег» исполнили участники проекта «Большой балет» (ТК «Культура») Рената Шакирова и Кимин Ким, солисты Мариинского театра.

В конце мая 2017 года на Дягилевском фестивале в Перми состоялась премьера его версии спектакля «Петрушка» на музыку Игоря Стравинского. Одну из партий исполнила Диана Вишнёва.