Diana Vishneva's Context festival

Moscow
Saint Petersburg

October / December 2019

Competition for young choreographers

Overview

The competition has been held annually since 2013 as part of Context. Diana Visheva contemporary dance festival. Over the years, it has evolved / grown into / to become a flagship event with its own structure, programme and audience. Over the years, it has evolved from a small experimental project to a major event with its own structure, programme and audience. Today the competition attracts over 200 applicants hailing from every corner of Russia, draws a live audience of about 1500 people and an online audience of over 130 000 people for its finale, has an extensive parallel programme, offers the participants an opportunity to showcase their creations at some of the best venues of Moscow and St. Petersburg and even go on tour.

Goals

The young choreographers competition recognises and fosters aspiring talent in the Russian contemporary dance scene, helping them bring their creative visions to life. The competition сontributes to the development and promotion of contemporary choreography both in Russia and around the world.

Winners

The competition has a history of supporting and nurturing new voices in contemporary dance in Russia. Winning the Context. The Context. Diana Visheva competition winners – Vladimir Varnava, Konstantin Keykhel, Liliya Burdinskaya, Olga Vasilieva, Olga Labovkina and other young choreographers – have gone on to have thriving global careers. Now their names can be spotted among the winners and jury members of the most prestigious theatre awards, while their works take over the repertoire of the leading musical theatres and international touring programmes and participate in festivals worldwide. More about the winners

Timeline and Procedures

The competition has three stages: • April – June: Call for applications. During this period the competition becomes an all-Russian young choreography talent show – at its best and finest. The applicants are mostly students of dance schools and academies from all over Russia and promising choreographers with relevant experience / some professional experience; • July – August: Shortlist selection. An expert panel comprised of the festival founder, the competition curator and industry professionals reviews hundreds of entries to select the finalists. • September – October: Production and rehearsals, evaluation of completed works by a top international jury. During the festival, in autumn, the finalists present their pieces to the international jury comprised of some of the biggest names in choreography, as well as to audiences in Moscow and St. Petersburg. In previous editions of the competition the jury included Hans van Manen, Christopher Stowell, Edward Klug, Mats Ek and other prominent figures.

The winner of the competition traditionally receives a grant for a training programme at one of the world's best contemporary dance companies.

The young choreographers competition is not about ranking and grading, deciding who is the best or handing out a verdict. It is a platform to share experience, think outside the box and create. Here up-and-coming choreographers get to compose and showcase their works through experimentation and self-expression. We encourage contestants to believe in themselves, challenge them to expand and improve their skills and provide them with constructive feedback (and advice) from established experts.

— Anastasia Yatsenko, Curator of the young choreographers competition

We are proud to announce the 7th edition of the young choreographers competition of the Context. Diana Vishneva festival. Applications open on 1 April and close on 30 June 2019. The competition finale will be held in October 2019.

Международный фестиваль современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva

Москва
Санкт-Петербург

октябрь / декабрь 2019

Конкурс молодых
хореографов

Общее описание

Конкурс проводится в рамках международного фестиваля современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva с 2013 года. За эти годы из маленького экспериментального проекта конкурс вырос в самостоятельное направление фестиваля со своей структурой, программой и аудиторией. Сейчас это более 200 заявок со всей России, около 1500 зрителей в зале и больше 130 тысяч зрителей онлайн, наблюдающих за финалом конкурса, обширная параллельная программа, лучшие площадки Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга, а также гастрольные туры.

Цели

Конкурс молодых хореографов открывает и поддерживает новые имена в мире современного танца в России, помогая им реализовать свои идеи. Конкурс способствует и популяризации современной хореографии среди российской аудитории и на международной арене.

Победители прошлых лет

У конкурса молодых хореографов яркая история поддержки и развития молодых талантов в области современной хореографии в России. Владимир Варнава, Константин Кейхель, Лилия Бурдинская, Ольга Васильева, Ольга Лабовкина и не только — это молодые хореографы, которые начали и продолжают блестящую международную карьеру после победы на конкурсе фестиваля Context. Diana Vishneva. Теперь эти имена можно увидеть среди лауреатов и членов жюри ведущих театральных премий, а их работы ежегодно пополняют репертуар крупных музыкальных театров России и мира, входят в состав их гастрольных программ, а также участвуют в международных фестивалях. Подробнее о победителях

Структура и проведение

Конкурс проводится в три этапа: • апрель — июнь: сбор заявок. В этот период конкурс становится всероссийским смотром молодой хореографии — во всем ее многообразии и лучших проявлениях. Участниками конкурса становятся студенты танцевальных школ со всей страны, а также хореографы, уже имеющие в багаже несколько постановок; • июль — август: формирование шорт-листа. Экспертный совет в составе основателя фестиваля, куратора конкурса и профильных экспертов осматривает сотни заявок, лучшие из которых попадают в шорт-лист; • сентябрь — октябрь: подготовка конкурсной программы, представление работ международному жюри. Осенью, во время проведения фестиваля, финалисты представляют свои работы международному жюри — мэтрам современной хореографии, а также зрителям Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга. В жюри в разное время были: Ханс ван Манен, Кристофер Стоуэлл, Эдвард Клюг, Матс Эк и другие мастера.

Победитель конкурса традиционно получает грант на стажировку в одной из ведущих зарубежных школ современного танца.

«Конкурс молодых хореографов — это не место, где выставляют оценки, выбирают лучшего, а строгие судьи выносят приговор. Это пространство для обмена опытом, свободомыслия и творчества. Здесь хореографы, которые еще только набираются опыта и знаний, создают и представляют свои работы, воплощая самые смелые идеи и замыслы. Мы даем возможность каждому участнику поверить в себя, расширить свои творческие способности, получить конструктивную критику и советы от мастеров танца».

— Анастасия Яценко, куратор конкурса молодых хореографов

В 2019 году конкурс молодых хореографов международного фестиваля современной хореографии Context. Diana Vishneva пройдет в седьмой раз. Заявки на конкурс принимаются с 1 апреля по 30 июня 2019 года. Финал конкурса пройдет в октябре 2019 года.